Hodgepodge Post containing a 5 picture glimpse of our town

18 12 2010

As it always seems to happen around this time of year things have been busy for us and that is my only excuse for the absence in posts.

Vanessa and I have officially finished the first semester of teaching here in Costa Rica.  The time has passed in a blink, not only with work but with everything.  I can’t believe that I have taken a semester of Spanish classes, or learned as many idiosyncrasies of Escazu as I have, or been fortunate enough to have the many of the experiences I have all packed into such a short period of time.  I also can’t believe that I have only gone surfing 4 times, I had big plans to become a professional surfer while down here.

Anyway, I am anxiously awaiting Wednesday, because my Mom and Dad arrive to spend Christmas with us!  I am sure there will be a full blog report on that trip so I will leave those details for another time.

Other things going on in our lives right now… I am competing in a climbing competition today.  If you have followed the blog for a while, you know that climbing is a big part of my life and every now and again I will be talked into competing.

Vanessa and I also had been trying to figure out what we were going to do after my parents visit because we still have over 2 weeks after they depart until we return to work.  After talking ourselves in circles and as usual waiting until the last minute we bought plane tickets to Panama City for January 4th.  We have a loose plan of what our 10 day trip down there will be like but we do know that we will be staying at this unique hostel:  http://www.lunascastlehostel.com/.

We have been so busy lately that we have not been taking as many pictures as we should so I am going to post a couple that I took from around Escazu.  Here is  a little taste of our town…

cross at the graveyard

 

outside a house

not a word was spoken between them

ceplicur

these guys have a tough life

side streets

San Miguel Church-center of town

My apologies for such a hodgepodge post but now that we can relax again after our second quarter cycle there will be more quality posts to follow…to be followed by poor posts…and again by better ones…

Actions

Information

2 responses

21 12 2010
Sandy

Have a great time with your parents. I miss you guys.

25 12 2010
Grandma Liz

I so enjoy seeing the pictures and reading what you write. It helps me feel close to you both. enjoy your folks and have a Merry Christmas G ma Liz

Leave a Reply

